Official Website Of The
Sabah State Government

Related Site

Yang Di-Pertua Negeri

Primary tabs

Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Photo

Tuan Yang Terutama Yang di-Pertua Negeri is the Head of State for Sabah. He is elected by Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong after receiving advice from the Chief Minister of Sabah.

Under the State Constitution, the Yang di-Pertua Negeri is elected for a period of four years.

The Yang di-Pertua Negeri uses his executive power according to the State Constitution and makes desicions based on the advice from the Cabinet or the Chief Minister. However, he may also act on his own discretion in performing the following functions:

  • Electing of the Chief Minister
  • Postponing of request to dissolve the State Legislative Assembly

An agreement by the Yang Di-Pertua Negeri is needed on all laws and regulations approved by the State Legislative Assembly.

The present Yang di-Pertua Negeri is Tun Datuk Seri Panglima Haji Juhar Haji Mahiruddin. He is the 10th Yang di-Pertua Negeri and was elected on 1 January 2011.

List of Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Sabah Since Independence


16 September 1963 - 1965

Tun Datu Haji Mustafa bin Datu Harun

16 September 1965 - 1973

Tun Pengiran Haji Ahmad Raffae

16 September 1973 - 1975

Tun Haji Mohd. Fuad Stephens

1975 - 1978

Tun Mohd. Hamdan (formerly Datuk Indan Kari)

26 June 1978 - 1979

Tun Ahmad Koroh

27 June 1979 - 1987

Tun Datuk Mohamad Adnan Robert

1987 - 1994

Tun Mohd. Said bin Keruak

01 January 1995 - 31/12/2002

Tun Datuk Seri Panglima Haji Sakaran bin Dandai

01 Janurary 2003 - 31/12/2010

Tun Datuk Seri Panglima Haji Ahmadshah bin Abdullah

01 January 2011 - sekarang

Tun Datuk Seri Panglima Haji Juhar Haji Mahiruddin